*Article 63 states that
Ans : There shall be a Vice President in India

*The Ex-officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha
Ans : Vice President

*The main function of the Vice President of India is to preside over the sessions of the
Ans : Rajya Sabha

*The Vice-President is elected by the members of an electoral college consisting of the members of
Ans : Both houses of Parliament

*The members of Parliament who can vote in the election of the Vice-President even though they have no right to vote in the election of the President
Ans : Nominated Members

*The nomination of a Vice-Presidential candidate must be proposed by at least
Ans : 20 electors

*The nomination of the Vice-President candidate must be seconded by another
20 electors

  • The Vice-President is elected for a term of
    Ans : 5 years

*The oath of office to the Vice-President is administered by the
Ans : President

*In the absence of the President or if the office of the President is vacant, the Vice President act as the President

*However he can act as the President for maximum period of
Ans : 6 months, within which a new
President shall be elected
*The Vice President is not a member of the
Ans : Rajya Sabha

*The ex-officio Chairman of Rajya Sabha who has no right to vote
Ans : The Vice-President

*In case of a tie in Rajya Sabha, the casting vote can be made by
Ans : The Vice-President

*The Vice-President may resign from his office by submitting his resignation to the
Ans : The President of India

*No formal impeachment is mentioned in the constitution to remove the
Ans : The Vice-President

*The Vice-president can be removed by a resolution of Rajya Sabha passed by an absolute majority of its members and agreed to by a simple majority of the Lok Sabha

*If a vacancy arises in the office of the Vice-President, a new one should be appointed at the earliest


*He should be an Indian Citizen

*He should have completed the age of 35 years

*He should be qualified for election as a member of the Rajya Sabha He should not hold any office for profit under the Union Government or any State Government or any local authority or any public authority.

*First Vice-President of India
Ans:Dr. S.Radhakrishnan

*Longest serving Vice-President of India
Ans : Dr. S.Radhakrishnan

*First person who became Vice-President of India twice
Ans : Dr. S.Radhakrishnan

*Second person to become the Vice-President of India twice
Ans : Mohammad Hamid Ansari

*The first Malayalee to become the Vice-President of India
Ans : Dr. K.R. Narayanan

*The oldest Vice-President of India
Ans : Bhairon Singh Shekhawat

*The youngest Vice-President of India
Ans : B.D. Jetty

*The only one person who held the post of the President, Vice-President and the Chief Justice of India
Ans : Justice M. Hidayathullah

*The only Vice-President who died in harness
Ans : Krishan Kant

*The crematorium of Krishan Kant is known as
Ans : Nigambodh Ghat

*The only Vice-President who lost the Presidential Election
Ans : Bhairon Singh Shekhawat

*Shortest serving Vice-President
Ans : V.V. Giri

Leave a Reply